1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Play Starcraft:BW on Windows 7

Discussion in 'StarCraft Original' started by Stirlitz, Sep 12, 2010.

Play Starcraft:BW on Windows 7

Discussion in 'StarCraft Original' started by Stirlitz, Sep 12, 2010.

1. Stirlitz

Stirlitz Member

Greece
    I've been trying to work out how to solve a series of problems with SC:BW lately as I wanna play with a friend who's PC can't run SC2. So as I managed to solve everything up to now and started being able to run the game smoothly I thought I'd compile it all in a guide for any who might need to access.

The 2 major problems are these:
    1) Funky Colours: Windows 7 is not supported and the're some issue with the direct draw. I've no idea about the technical sides of it as I'm a computers noob, but anyway it's solvable by downloading a .dll file and putting it in your starcraft folder.

So to fix the graphics issue:

i)Visit http://sol.gfxile.net/ddhack/ and download "ddhack10.zip"(I'll attach it to my post too)
    ii) Unzip and copy the .dll and .cfg items in your starcraft folder
    iii) Play

Be sure to read the documentation. You can edit the .cfg file to modify some parameters to solve specific issues that might arise. It's possible that the second major issue can be solved from there, but I don't know how and didn't bother to try, but you can.
    This will fix your graphics problems

2nd Major Issue: The Mouse Cursor gets stuck at some point in the screen or just follows annoying behaviour{auto-drags etc}.

There is a post in TeamLiquid about how to play SC:BW in windowed mode. This solves said problem, and possibly it could be enough to solve the colours issue by itself, but I had already installed the .dll file above and didn't bother check without it.
    Anyway, go to: